Treasure In Polar Fudge

Polar Fudge Adventures doesn’t do stuff. Money only has narrative value. Most equipment is classed as “Free Stuff” meaning that characters can have whatever makes sense for them to have. And any really special items are governed by Gifts, which are in turn tied to character progression.

So what do you do if you want to present a reward as part of an adventure, or include some form of treasure in an area you expect the characters to explore?

The cleanest way to handle this is with one off items. These provide something genuinely useful to the players without unduly unbalancing the game.

The following are ten example magical items for Polar Fudge Medieval Adventures to illustrate the concept.

#NameUsage
1Firebird EggLike the Nuke power
2Fairy DustPuts the target to sleep, like the Paralysis power
3Healing PotionLike the Heal power
4Ninja Smoke BombLike the Fog power
5Invisibility PowderLike the Invisibility power
6Wizard’s MushroomEat to gain a temporary Think Point to spend within 1 hour
7Berserker’s VenomGain 2 additional actions that turn, take 1 Hit Point damage
8Cursed ArrowA +3 damage arrow
9Enchanted FigurineLike the Summon power
10Seeds of DoomCreeping vines that entangle the target, like the Grab power

Using a potion is an action and uses up your turn during combat. Note drinking Berserker Venom is an action but it instantly gives you two actions.

Items that require targeting a foe (like Firebird Eggs or Fairy Dust), require a Fix vs Defence test. Depending on the circumstances, the case can be made for using different Attributes in the test, but Fix should be considered the default as it is the Attribute for both mechanical aptitude and manual dexterity.

Get Polar Fudge Adventures, Polar Fudge Medieval Adventures and other free Polar Blues Press games here: https://ukrpdc.wordpress.com/2017/12/03/polar-blues-press-downloads/.

2 thoughts on “Treasure In Polar Fudge

  1. Greetings from Finland!

    Thank you for your work! I’ve enjoyed Polar Fudge Medieval Adventures very much, and this Treasure Table was just what I needed to reward my players in a more concrete manner! I’m running a scenario this weekend based on the “Belascus” adventure.

    I’m not actually running my campaign with Fudge mechanics, but using a “Polar adaptation” of Freeform Universal action resolution.

    I use Medieval Adventures as a sourcebook, meaning I adapted the setting, character attributes, gifts, combat and damage, reputation and the magic system to my game. I dubbed my game “Valtakunta” (“Kingdom” in Finnish) after your world setting.

    I’ve used Fudge earlier in my homebrew Fallout game, but switched to a system with no fixed attributes some time later. Just a personal preference.

    I also liked BHAW and Cyber Blues City. I wrote a scenario for CBC and I think I’ll play “Night of the Atomic Snowmen” with my group if we go post-apocalyptic again 🙂

    Anyway… Thank you repeatedly, and keep up the good work! Happy gaming to you and your players!

  2. Thank you kindly. It is always nice to hear that my range of games is getting some play time. That’s what they are there for, after all!

Leave a comment