FUDGEZOR – An Early Preview

According the sites stats, this here should be our 100th post. That might not be very impressive for a site that has been around 5 odd years but I still felt I should make it a bit special.  So what I have here is a first draft of FUDGEZOR, my mutant strain of Fudge. It’s a further elaboration of the Fudge build I used inLawmen v Outlaws turned into a more freeform, generic engine.  The aim is to make it the sort of game the GM never need to read more than once. As such the pre-defined Gifts are gone, as is the “players only roll” approach. In their place there is some stuff, like the weapons and initiative rules.

This is still all experimental and untested, even the name might change.I haven’t included my section for supernornal power and other exotic effects as that is still very, very rought. But I figured I’d put it out here what I have so far. If you have any comments, please post them below.

FUDGEZOR – Early Draft

As with standard Fudge everything that matters is measured on an adjective-based scale consisting of the eight sequential ranks listed below. Each rank has a corresponding numeric value.

















Actions are resolved with Tests. In a Test the gamemaster (GM) assigns a Difficulty Rating (DR) to a task ranging from TERRIBLE to LEGENDARY. Players roll the dice and add the result to their most relevant Trait. The task succeeds if this total meets or beats the DR. The degree by which the result beats its DR is called Margin of Success (MoS) and can be important. Results from Tests are capped. The outcome from a Test cannot be worse than TERRIBLE or better than LEGENDARY.

The Dice
FUDGEZOR uses Fudge dice for Tests. If you don’t have Fudge dice you can use regular six-sided dice, referred to as ‘d6’s, instead. Roll 2 differently coloured dice designating one colour as positive and one as negative. The result will be between -5 and +5 which isn’t the same as with Fudge dice but it is close enough.

Character Creation

Character Creation Summary

1. Traits – Assign the following ranks to your Traits; 1 GREAT, 2 GOOD, 1 MEDIOCRE. All other Traits are FAIR
2 Gifts and Flaws – Choose 4 Gift and 2 Flaws so that each Trait has at least one Gift or Flaw.
3. Secondary Traits – Set Hit Points to 5 and Fate Points to 3
4. Gear Up

All characters have the six Traits listed below. When creating a character set one Trait to GREAT, two to GOOD and one to MEDIOCRE. All other Traits default to FAIR. The Traits are:

  • Think – intelligence and education. Use for Tests involving knowledge, logic or when performing highly technical tasks.
  • Move – physical strength, agility and fitness. Use for running, sneaking and lifting.
  • Talk – interacting with people. Use to persuade, intimidate or gather information.
  • Focus – willpower and awareness. Use for perception, tracking, bravery.
  • Fix – manual dexterity and mechanical aptitude. Use for lock picking or repairing things.
  • Fight – all combat related abilities.

Gifts & Flaws
Characters get 4 Gifts and 2 Flaws. A Gift grants +2 to a narrow aspect of a Trait, for example: Scout (Focus +2 for tracking ), Ninja Stealth (Move +2 to move quietly), Master swordsman (Fight +2 using a sword). A Flaw imposes a -2 penalty to a narrow aspect of a Trait, for examples: Clumsy (Move -2 to balance), No head for numbers (Think -2 for calculations), Slowest Gun in the West (Fight -2 with pistols).

Assign Gifts and Flaws so that each Trait has 1 of either.

Players should created their own Gifts and Flaws. They should be very specific. They do not need to have fancy names “Good at X” or “Bad at Y” are perfectly valid Gift or Flaw names.

Hit Points
Hit Points are a measure of how much abuse you can take in a scrap before things get serious. Damage taken temporarily reduces your current number of Hit Points. You start each session with 5 Hit Points.

Fate Points
Fate Points are a resource you can spend when you need an extra boost. Spend a Fate Point to:

  • Get a +2 bonus to a Test even after the dice are rolled; this can only be done once per Test

  • Attempt something usual not specifically covered by the rules.

You can earn Fate Points during play. Gain 1 Fate Point whenever:

  • Your character does something really cool

  • Something totally not-cool is done to your character

  • You roll +4 (+5 if you are using d6s) on a Test

  • Your character get a hot meal and a good night’s sleep (once per session).

You start each session with 3 Fate Points. Unspent Fate Points are not carried over between sessions.

Weapons & Other Gear
Characters are equipment with whatever makes sense for them to have. There are no special rules for most gear. Weapons are defined by a Type and Rank. The Type (pistol, sword, kung fu, etc…) determines properties like range or whether it makes noise. Unarmed fighting styles count as weapons if you want them to more than +0 damage.

The Rank ( FAIR, GOOD and GREAT) determine damage and initiative.

FAIR weapons do +1 damage and act first in combat.
GOOD weapons do +2 damage and act next.
GREAT weapons do +3 damage but act last.

The total value of the weapons carried should not exceed 4 (for instance 1 GREAT Shotgun and 1 FAIR Knife, or 1 GOOD pistol and 1 GOOD punching). There are no provision in the Basic rules for attacks striking multiple targets or that have more exotic effects.

Initiative in combat is determined by weapon Rank (low to high) and within the same weapon Rank character act before NPCs. Repeat until one side is defeated, driven off or both sides come to an amicable understanding.

Combat Tests
To make an attack, roll against your Fight. The DR is the target’s Fight score. The attack succeeds if it meets or beats the DR. Likewise to attack characters the GM will roll the attacks using the NPC’s Fight and try to meet the character Fight score.

A Gift that applies to Fight can add+2 to a character’s attack roll, but not to the Fight score for defence purposes.

On a successful attack, add the MoS turns to the weapon damage a deduct it from the target’s Hit Points.

Wounds and Healing
Damage sustained in combat or from other hazards is temporarily taken off the target’s Hit Points. Characters whose Hit Points are reduced to zero are Wounded. They are knocked unconscious and can take no further action that scene. Wounded characters that receive a second wound are Seriously Wounded. A third wound is fatal. Non-lethal attacks do not cause characters to become Wounded when knocked out.

At the end of the scene, characters recover Hit Points as follows:

Not Wounded – Regain full Hit Points
Wounded – Regain half Hit Points (rounded up)
Seriously Wounded – Regain 1 Hit Point
Dead – Regain no Hit Points. Also, dead.

Given sufficient time, wounds heal up naturally. Typically “sufficient time” means “between adventures” but going to see a doctor and resting a while works too.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s