A little thing I like to call Cyberblues City

I’ve been working on a new roleplaying game I call Cyberblues City. Cyberblues is sort of like cyberpunk, only more mellow.

I got me the notion a short while back of writing a cyberpunk conversion of Bounty Hunters of the Atomic Wastelands (BHAW). I figured it would just be a simple lift and shift, turned out it required a substantial rethink.

One concept that really grabbed me while thinking about this project the idea of terseness. There is something beautifully immediate about a terse set of rules, provided of course you are already a seasoned gamer. I wanted to keep Cyberblues City terse as a style choice (terse is the right tone for the Cyberblues) but also as a design goal. To achieve this terseness all rules that were either confusing until you’ve got used to them, require a lot of explaining or read well but didn’t get much use in actual play had to be removed.

The result ended up looking a lot more like Fudge than Fate. But I was OK with that. I had not written anything for Fudge since Mutant Bikers of the Atomic Wastelands. There scores of folk writing Fate games these days, maybe it was time to go back to my roots.

The first draft of Cyberblues City is currently in play test phase. So far I like what I am seeing. It’s got some new dice mechanics I am very pleased with, I might even blog about them. I haven’t started with illustrations yet but I have some ideas and try something different this time.

As with BHAW when it’s all done, it will be released as a free pdf so keep checking here for updates!

One thought on “A little thing I like to call Cyberblues City

  1. Glad to hear it’s coming along.
    I definitely agree with throwing away anything that’s not completely necessary… small is beautiful 🙂

Leave a Reply

