Greetings from a crowdfunding project creator

Hi, I’m Ste C, and I’m new here; so I figure I’d best introduce myself and what I know about.

My knowledge of game design is somewhat fractured, being derived from a rather disconnected set of experiences, and ultimately it’s limited: I’ve never completed anything more complicated than a casual card game. While it’s a passion, it’s not a field of expertise.

What I have a better understanding of is Crowdfunding. While still limited, my knowledge is formed from practical experience, and is therefore (in my mind at least) a more useful thing to share.

My Experience

I’ve run one successful Kickstarter for an RPG product (Character Cards); which just about broke even financially due to a number of miscalculations.

My second Kickstarter is currently underway, for another RPG product (Location Cards); and it looks set to do much better than the first, despite a number of mistakes made along the way.

On the design side of things, I’ve been designing games/game aspects pretty much continuously in one place or another since I first came across Build Editor in Duke Nukem 3D, when I was 8 years old.
When my brother brought the manual home from the library I dived in and began creating all sorts of insane maps.

Since then I’ve been continuously involved in fan design. Creating maps for Starcraft, designing heroes and items for DotA (although none of them got into the official map, they did contribute a few abilities to the game) and participating in custom set design on MtG fan forums; as well as working on my own (thus far unpublished) game designs.

I’ll be back to talk about stuff in more depth soon, now that you know who I am. But for now I’ll just say:

Be Well

-Ste

2 thoughts on “Greetings from a crowdfunding project creator

  1. Welcome on board!
    I’ve just got back from Indiecon where I heard only good things about the character cards, so ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Cool ๐Ÿ™‚

      I didn’t see that indiecon was on until it was too late to arrange going down, so I’m surprised+very happy to hear it was mentioned ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

